COLONNA Francesco. Hypnerotomachia Poliphili.... - Lot 15 - Audap & Associés

Lot 15
Got to lot
Estimation :
180000 - 180000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 196 292EUR
COLONNA Francesco. Hypnerotomachia Poliphili.... - Lot 15 - Audap & Associés
COLONNA Francesco. Hypnerotomachia Poliphili. Venice, Aldus Manutius, December 1499; folio (300 x 205 mm) of [4] and 230 ff.
230 ff, bound in the Second Empire red morocco, the boards decorated in cold with compartments of rosettes and various motifs in the Venetian style, lining in green morocco with partial repetition of the same decoration but gilt, spine with cold decorated nerves, edges gilt (Chambolle-Duru).

First edition and first printing of ONE OF THE MOST BEAUTIFUL ILLUSTRATED BOOKS OF ALL TIME. It is also one of the most mysterious texts of the Renaissance. With a Latin title, the work is printed in dialectal Italian interspersed with quotations in Greek and Latin, but also in Hebrew and Arabic.

This amphigoric novel is the account by a monk, Poliphilus, of a journey of initiation in pursuit of his beloved, Polia.
Through a succession of singular events, she keeps evading him. Without knowing that he is dreaming, he describes in detail what he sees in his wanderings: beautiful vestiges of antiquity, temples and palaces, decorations, epigraphic inscriptions, but also marvellous gardens, improbable machines, fabulous beings, fauna, nymphs, gods and goddesses. The enigma hunters will probably never come to the end of all the symbols and all the allegories contained in the book, the author seeming to have sometimes lost himself in the meanders of his relation. A French translation published in 1546 with the regraved woodwork had a definite influence on taste in various fields: gardens, decoration, architecture

ONE HUNDRED AND SEVENTY-TWO WOODCUT FIGURES ILLUSTRATE THE STORY. All of them, of a surprising beauty, have remained anonymous to this day. The letter B at the foot of one of them has led to a hazardous attribution to Benedetto Bordone (after having been attributed to Mantegna and Giovanni Bellini). - Reproduction opposite. The name of the author Francesco Colonna himself, always presumed, was found by chance by putting one after the other the thirty-eight large initials which are at the head of each chapter: "Poliam frater Francesco Columna peramavit". But this attribution is questioned.

A masterpiece of Venetian typography, the volume stands out for its novelty thanks to an elegant Roman typeface developed in
developed in Venice by Nicolas Jenson. It is said to be the first Western book to contain Arabic characters. Aldus, the printer, plays
Aldus, the printer, plays creatively with typography, creating a kind of calligraphy with fragments of text that appear in the form of coats of arms, vases and chalices. The layout is particularly harmonious from one end to the other.

MAGNIFICENT EXAMPLE, having belonged to Hector de Backer, one of the most brilliant bibliophiles of the twentieth century, former
president of the Royal Society of Bibliophiles and Iconophiles of Belgium. Catalogue, II, 1927, n° 2977. Very pure, with large margins, the copy is complete with the errata leaf, perfect, which is often missing or leaves something to be desired, the rarity of which was already noted by Charles Nodier in the novel Franciscus Columna (1844). The engraving of the sacrifice to Priape, often scratched, is here intact.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

COLONNA Francesco. Hypnerotomachia Poliphili....

Lot 15
Aller au lot
Estimation :
180000 - 180000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 196 292EUR

COLONNA Francesco. Hypnerotomachia Poliphili....

COLONNA Francesco. Hypnerotomachia Poliphili. Venise, Alde Manuce, décembre 1499 ; in-folio (300 x 205 mm) de [4] et
230 ff., reliure du Second Empire maroquin rouge, les plats décorés à froid de compartiments de rosaces et de motifs variés dans le style vénitien, doublures de maroquin vert avec reprise partielle du même décor mais doré, dos à nerfs décoré à froid, tranches dorées (Chambolle-Duru).

Édition originale et premier tirage de l'UN DES PLUS BEAUX LIVRES ILLUSTRÉS DE TOUS LES TEMPS. C'est aussi l'un des textes les plus mystérieux de la Renaissance. Avec un titre latin, l'ouvrage est imprimé en italien dialectal entrecoupé de citations en grec et en latin mais aussi en hébreu et en arabe.

Ce roman amphigourique est la relation par un moine, Poliphile, d'un voyage initiatique à la poursuite de sa belle, Polia.
Par une succession d'événements singuliers, celle-ci se dérobe toujours à lui. Sans savoir qu'il rêve, il décrit minutieusement ce qu'il voit dans sa pérégrination : de beaux vestiges de l'antiquité, temples et palais, décorations, inscriptions épigraphiques, mais aussi jardins merveilleux, machines improbables, êtres fabuleux, faune, nymphes, dieux et déesses. Les chasseurs d'énigmes ne viendront sans doute jamais à bout de tous les symboles et de toutes les allégories contenus dans le livre, l'auteur semblant s'être parfois lui-même égaré dans les méandres de sa relation. Une traduction française parue en 1546 avec les bois regravés a eu des influences certaines sur le goût dans différents domaines : jardins, décoration, architecture

CENT SOIXANTE-DOUZE FIGURES GRAVÉES SUR BOIS ILLUSTRENT LE DÉROULEMENT DU RÉCIT. Toutes, d'une surprenante beauté, sont restées à ce jour anonymes. La lettre B au pied de l'une d'elles a permis l'attribution hasardeuse à Benedetto Bordone (après l'avoir été à Mantegna et à Giovanni Bellini). - Reproduction ci-contre. Le nom de l'auteur Francesco Colonna lui-même, toujours présumé, a été trouvé par hasard en mettant l'une après l'autre les trente-huit grandes lettrines qui sont en tête de chaque chapitre : « Poliam frater Francesco Columna peramavit ». Mais cette attribution est remise en cause.

Chef-d'oeuvre de la typographie vénitienne, le volume tranche par sa nouveauté grâce à un élégant caractère romain mis au
point à Venise par Nicolas Jenson. Ce serait le premier livre occidental à contenir des caractères arabes. Alde, l'imprimeur, joue
de façon créative avec la typographie, créant des sortes de calligrammes avec des fragments de textes qui apparaissent en forme de blasons, de vases, de calices. La mise en page est d'un bout à l'autre particulièrement harmonieuse.

MAGNIFIQUE EXEMPLAIRE, ayant appartenu à Hector de Backer l'un des plus brillants bibliophiles du XXe siècle, ancien
président de la Société royale des Bibliophiles et Iconophiles de Belgique. Catalogue, II, 1927, n° 2977. Très pur, grand de marges, l'exemplaire est complet du feuillet d'errata, parfait, qui manque souvent ou laisse à désirer, dont la rareté était déjà relevée par Charles Nodier dans la nouvelle Franciscus Columna (1844). La gravure du sacrifice à Priape souvent grattée est ici intacte.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue