A pair of marquetry, rosewood and amaranth... - Lot 206 - Audap & Associés

Lot 206
Go to lot
Estimation :
30000 - 40000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 51 520EUR
A pair of marquetry, rosewood and amaranth... - Lot 206 - Audap & Associés
A pair of marquetry, rosewood and amaranth corner cupboards, the top of Aleppo breccia marble resting on cutaway uprights surmounted by rosettes joined by a frieze of interlacing, opening to a leaf decorated with a rosette in a frame with spandrels and discs; fire mark GR / W; (accidents and restorations).
Made under the direction of the merchant-merchant Simon-Philippe Poirier (circa 1720-1785).
Stamped by Martin Carlin and JME, cabinetmaker received master in 1766.
Louis XVI period, circa 1775.
Height : 88 cm. 88 cm ; Length of one side : 44 cm


Provenance:
- Delivered for the private furniture storage of Marie Antoinette, Queen of France (1755-1793),
- Sale Paris, Arcole, June 27, 1989, lot 179.

The mark GR / W corresponds to the mark of the Grenier des Recollets in Versailles. Built in 1684 by the architect Jules Hardouin-Mansart, the convent's attic served as a storage room for Queen Marie Lezsczynska (died 1768), for the dauphine Marie-Josèphe de Saxe (died 1767) and for the dauphine Marie-Antoinette until an undetermined date, around 1784. The date of Martin Carlin's mastery, 1766, as well as the style of this furniture, exclude the possibility of a delivery for Marie Lezczyska as well as for the dauphine of Saxony.

This pair of corner pieces was therefore delivered for Marie-Antoinette's private furniture repository between the date of her marriage to the future Louis XVI in May 1770 and the beginning of the use of the circular mark of the queen's furniture repository at a date that is still uncertain, probably around 1784, the date of the complete reorganization of the administration of the royal furniture repository. The original location of the furniture is in the small apartments of the queen at the Château de Versailles, which Marie-Antoinette had occupied since the death of Queen Marie Lezczinska.

Martin Carlin worked mainly for the merchant Simon-Philippe Poirier, who in 1770 delivered the famous jewellery box to the dauphine Marie-Antoinette (Château de Versailles), also by Carlin and bearing the mark of the dauphine's furniture guard (GR/W). It is therefore very likely that the future queen bought her two corner pieces more or less at the same time also through Poirier, who asked his usual cabinetmaker since the death of BVRB.

Several pieces of furniture stamped by Martin Carlin show comparable marquetry. Let us quote in this respect the chest of drawers and the secretary of the Huntington Library (Passadena, California) as well as another secretary sold in New York at Christie's, on October 29, 2019, lot 1120.



Expert : Pierre-François DAYOT
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

Paire d'encoignures en marqueterie, bois... - Lot 206 - Audap & Associés

Lot 206
Aller au lot
Estimation :
30000 - 40000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 51 520EUR
Paire d'encoignures en marqueterie, bois... - Lot 206 - Audap & Associés
Paire d'encoignures en marqueterie, bois de rose et amarante, le dessus de marbre brèche d'Alep reposant sur des montants à pan coupé surmontés de rosaces réunis par une frise d'entrelacs, ouvrant à un vantail à décor d'une rosace dans un encadrement à écoinçons et disques ; marque au feu GR / W ; (accidents et restaurations).
Réalisée sous la direction du marchand-mercier Simon-Philippe Poirier (vers 1720-1785).
Estampille de Martin Carlin et JME, ébéniste reçu maître en 1766.
Époque Louis XVI, vers 1775.
Haut. : 88 cm ; Long. d'un côté : 44 cm


Provenance :
- Livrée pour le garde-meubles privé de Marie-Antoinette, reine de France (1755-1793),
- Vente Paris, Arcole, le 27 juin 1989, lot 179.

La marque GR / W correspond à la marque du Grenier des Recollets à Versailles. Construit en 1684 par l'architecte Jules Hardouin-Mansart, le grenier du couvent servit de garde-meubles pour la reine Marie Lezsczynska (morte en 1768), pour la dauphine Marie-Josèphe de Saxe (morte en 1767) et pour la dauphine Marie-Antoinette jusqu'à une date indéterminée, autour de 1784. La date de la maîtrise de Martin Carlin, 1766, ainsi que le style de ces meubles, excluent de fait la possibilité d'une livraison pour Marie Lezczyska ainsi que pour la dauphine de Saxe.

Cette paire d'encoignures a donc été livrée pour le garde-meubles privé de Marie-Antoinette, entre la date de son mariage avec le futur Louis XVI en mai 1770 et le début de l'utilisation de la marque circulaire du garde-meubles de la reine à une date encore incertaine, vraisemblablement autour de 1784, date de la réorganisation complète de l'administration du garde-meubles royal. On peut par ailleurs situer leur emplacement d'origine dans les petits appartements de la reine au château de Versailles, appartements que Marie-Antoinette occupa depuis la mort de la reine Marie Lezczinska.

Martin Carlin travaille essentiellement à cette époque pour le marchand-mercier Simon-Philippe Poirier, lequel livre en 1770 le célèbre coffret à bijoux à la dauphine Marie-Antoinette (Château de Versailles), également par Carlin et portant aussi la marque de garde-meuble de la dauphine (GR/W). Il est donc très probable que la future reine acheta ses deux encoignures plus ou moins à la même période également par l'intermédiaire de Poirier, lequel sollicita son ébéniste habituel depuis le décès de BVRB.

Plusieurs meubles estampillés de Martin Carlin présentent une marqueterie comparable. Citons à cet égard la commode et le secrétaire de la Huntington Library (Passadena, Californie) ainsi qu'un autre secrétaire vendu à New York chez Christie's, le 29 octobre 2019, lot 1120.



Expert : Pierre-François DAYOT
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue